21
Apr
08

Why I VOTE

Talking politics is always a hot potato topic (hot kinish to keep it in the Deli framework)…VOTING, however, is not about politics. It is a right and a responsibility…a gift that is an American birthright.

I am 55 1/2 years old (I still count half years ;P) and I have missed ONE vote in my entire lifetime…that was because I was practically on bedrest when I was pregnant with Lilacspecs (9lbs. 8 oz.) and was not permitted to venture out to vote in that particular primary election.

Americans love to bitch and moan. It’s too hot; it’s too cold; it’s too far to the right; it’s too far to the left; your nothin but a commie bastard (very popular while I was growing up); you’re just a tree huggin freak (another popular one).

BUT, Americans DON’T love to vote! The election turnouts have been abysmally low for the last several decades…WHY? Let me count the excuses…oops, I mean the ways…

1. I am disenfranchised. BULLSHIT. You choose not to participate. You choose not to read the paper or read a book or become informed. YOU CHOOSE to be disenfranchised and STILL bitch about it (lucky thing you live in America and have the right to do that)!

2. There is nobody I like or want to vote for. CRAPOLA. You have choices, that is the point, and if you don’t like the choices, WRITE IN who you do like. You have a voice, use it, don’t just bitch about it.

3. My vote doesn’t really count for anything. Really? How in the hell do you think our current president got elected? If you had gotten your ass out of the house and gone to vote INSTEAD of bitching about it, maybe, just maybe, we wouldn’t be in the situation we are today.

4. It’s raining. Can you believe that people ACTUALLY USE THAT LAME EXCUSE? It’s ONLY WATER folks…not even acid rain! Unless you are the Wicked Witch of the West, quit bitching about the weather and get out and vote.

5. My vote still doesn’t count because of the whole electoral college thing. Can you say “PENNSYLVANIA”? For the first time, in a very long time, I think Pennsylvania’s voters WILL decide who the Democratic party candidate will be in November. You can BITCH, or VOTE.

I have earned the right to BITCH MY BUTT OFF if I want to because of my voting record. If you don’t vote, don’t bitch…you get what you deserve, especially if it isn’t what ‘you want’…you never indicated what you want, for whatever the EXCUSE.

For the record, I’ve also changed my party registration, just to make sure that my voice is heard…LOUD and CLEAR tomorrow morning at 8AM…I will be in line to cast my 72nd ballot knowing that I hold my rights dear and I am fulfilling my responsibility to MYSELF and my country.

Where ever you might live…VOTE.

3 Responses to “Why I VOTE”


  1. April 22, 2008 at 6:35 am

    I did, I did! I voted Obama on my absentee ballot and mailed it while we were visiting! Yaaaaay!

    In Belgium, if you don’t vote, you get fined. See, all those “freedoms” we get as Americans seem to backfire when it comes down to social responsibility.

    Oh and I’ve REALLY got a craving for fried matzah lately…I think I’m PMSing.

  2. April 23, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    Just from this one post, I think I may love you. One thing I have said time and again to any one I know who feels the need to rant about current events: “Did you vote in the last election? No? Well, the shut your trap because you’re not helping the situation.”

    Not that I’d say anyone doesn’t have the ‘right’ to complain. Sure, everyone’s got that right. I mean,that’s the point of a free society, no? But honestly, don’t come bitching about how this or that is wrong with the state of American politics if you’re not willing to make an attempt at a change. Does the system need revision? Hell yes. Is it going ot happen if people don’t demand it? Hell no!

  3. 3 judie
    April 23, 2008 at 11:06 pm

    good girl, you said you would and you did! now the holiday is in full swing, keep up your good intentions and call me if you need an ear…J


Leave a Reply

Today’s Special

April 2008
S M T W T F S
    May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Oldies but Goodies

Awards!


