25
Apr
08

Living la vida loca

Some would believe that I do, indeed, live a little weeney bit of a crazy life.   I guess one has to define crazy to make that determination. Let’s see, I define crazy as risky, but not in a bad or necessarily dangerous way; more like taking chances. Ya know, stepping outside the safety zone and jumping… So, am I una pocita loca??

  • around the age of 2, during a visit to the Pittsburgh Zoo, I bent over and took a large bite out of a lamb in the petting zoo (I still like lamb chops)
  • at the age of 3, I PURPOSEFULLY and with great pleasure drove my tricycle into the kitchen cabinets (my mom delighted in telling people about this) knowing that I would lose my riding priviledges…just testing the parental waters (I even gave my mother the bike and dared her to put it in the basement—which she did—good mom –consistent in her behavior managment even if she did laugh hysterically that I did that)
  • at the age of 7 I carved my name into the pencil well of the wooden school desk…needed to mark my spot or something I guess (didn’t get in trouble for it either!)
  • at the age of 12 my neighbor and I mixed up a concoction of amonia and clairoxide and put yellowish-orange (we thought they would be blond) streaks in our hair…very mature and cool, mind you…she got ‘killed’, my dad just said, ‘hi blondie’…. 
  • at the age of 15 I went to the first LOVE-IN that Pittsburgh had at the Point in town…yes, I am a hippie child…we sat around and wove flowers in our hair, inhaled, and then jumped off what was then know as the ‘Bridge to Nowhere’ into the Allegheny River.   
  • at the age of 17 I snuck out of my house at midnight and drove around Pittsburgh all night with3 friends in a convertible with the top down drinking rot gut wine…we were chased by police and actually got away…I walked back into my house exactly 3 minutes before I heard my dad’s alarm go off.
  • at the age of 19 I decided that I needed to marry the nice Irish Catholic neighborhood boy who had moved to California when we were 14…he subsequently came back east and found me and we had a real long distance relationship…but I digress…I accelerated my college program to accomplish this feat….that means I lied my ass off to everyone who could possibly stand in my way (read that: advisor, department chair, dean) and ended up taking 22 credits in one trimester plus Neuroanatomy as an independent study/exam only, in order to graduate two trimesters early  —NO, my Dedicated Dude hubby (DD) is NOT the Irish Catholic neighbor boy

That kind of laid the ground work for the more daring things I do now, like skydiving (age 50–actually my 50th birthday present to myself); whitewater rafting in about 33 degree Alaskan river water; snorkeling with a shitload of manta rays right after Steve Irwin was nailed by one; running joyfully FULL MONTY on a beach in Saint Maarten (my sister wanted to DIE!).

I want to take a joyride on the ‘vomit comet’ (probably the closest I’ll come to actually flying into space); I think I may swim with sharks on my next Caribbean cruise; I must take an icecutter cruise to the Antarctic; I think it would be a blast to ride roller coasters ALL DAY–one right after another.

So, what do you think???

7 Responses to “Living la vida loca”


  1. April 25, 2008 at 8:33 am

    I think Steve got whacked by a sting ray, not a manta ray, manta rays don’t have stingers and that’s what impaled poor steve.
    I also think that if you get to dive with sharks before I do that I’ll certainly be jealous and likely be a little pissed.

    Otherwise I think your a very fun and cool mom who isn’t afraid to add some excitement to her life. How about the next thing you do is move to Holland? It’s a bit more like America and Dad wouldn’t have to learn Dutch.

  2. 2 hotmamamia
    April 25, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Don’t tempt me Specs….a grandkiddie or two might just push me over the edge…muahahahahahaha

  3. 3 DD
    April 26, 2008 at 9:55 am

    Being a shy and reserved type,your antics have made my life certainly more exciting( I think? ).As for a move to Holland,in the words of a famous college professor,”I’ll take it under advisement”

  4. 4 judie
    April 27, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    yes and I have witnessed a lot of your goings on and admire you for it! I guess I am living vicariously through you bean 🙂 amsterdam sounds like a plan, count me in….

  5. 5 Carrie
    April 28, 2008 at 10:30 am

    I am so in on a trip to Amsterdam!!!!

  6. May 1, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    Ok, how about bungee jumping or going on safari? Diving in a shark cage off the coast of Australia? Seriously, how crazy do you want to get? I got a million of them. 😉

  7. 7 Heather Berchin
    May 2, 2008 at 9:41 am

    I had no idea you were so daring……my personal favorite is you running along the beach….Full Monty..you said?? I’m jealous at your exciting life!!!!


Leave a Reply

Today’s Special

April 2008
S M T W T F S
    May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Oldies but Goodies

Awards!


