09
May
08

Proud to be an Old Fart

I got some of the best news in the whole wide world last evening. I decided to go a retirement meeting held by my state retirement board and guess what I learned?

I am old enough to retire TOMORROW if I wish with FULL BENEFITS. No penalties, no reductions, no problems!

Yep, I am over 55, I have taught for 35 years (THAT is hard to believe) and I am eligible for full health benefits PAID BY MY EMPLOYER until I am ready for Medicare.

What will I do with this time, should I choose to take advantage of it? Let me count the ways…

1. Volunteer to rock sick babies at Children’s Hospital
2. Volunteer to rock preemies at any of the maternity hospitals
3. Become an usher at Heinz Hall, Benedum Center or the Byham Theater and get my fill of the Pittsburgh Symphony, Ballet, Opera, Civic Light Opera, Broadway Series, you get the idea…
4. Volunteer as a docent at the Pittsburgh Zoo or Phipps Conservatory
5. Volunteer to teach computer skills at senior citizen centers
6. Sign up to walk in as many 5K walks that I can handle
7. Spend a month/ 4 times a year in Belgium (I’d have to get me my own little house or something!)
8. Go on at least one if not two cruises a year
9. Consider working as a consultant
10. Clean my house and plant flowers in the garden;as long as I can stay away from the poison ivy 🙂

That is the first tier of ideas….I’m working on the second and third tier…I always tell my students, “Ya gotta have a Plan B and Plan C.”

Do y’all have any suggestions? I’d love to hear them!

5 Responses to “Proud to be an Old Fart”


  1. May 9, 2008 at 4:16 am

    Erm, volunteer at CHCC? Volunteer at a no-kill animal shelter? Invent a cure for poison ivy? I can get Hans over here too, he always has a plan A-F about everything.

  2. 2 DD
    May 9, 2008 at 9:15 am

    Clean my house???????

  3. 3 Carrie
    May 9, 2008 at 9:22 am

    Congratulations!!!! I am so happy for you. Don’t hold back and surely do EVERYTHING on your list that you can!

  4. May 11, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    I bet you will be short of time!

  5. 5 hotmamamia
    May 11, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    Bientje–Not if I can help it!


Leave a Reply

Today’s Special

May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Oldies but Goodies

Awards!


