21
Jun
08

Blogblast for Education

I know, one day late but in this case, better late than never!

I am a University professor in education…I was a teacher/speech therapist for 20 years in the public schools before I went ‘academe’; but most importantly, I am a parent of two children who went through the public school system in this country.

And I am screaming angry about where our schools are headed.  THANK YOU- THANK YOU-THANK YOU to April  at It’s All About Balance for making this a national issue in her blog.

As a mother who happened to also be an educator, I would try as hard as I could to be involved, but guess what folks?  I worked the same hours as the teachers who wanted my involvement. I could not volunteer without taking a sick day off from my own teaching position and thereby ‘hurting’ my own students.

I went to every single Open House and spoke to every single teacher. In fact, I actually took the time to make a special appointment with my son’s math teacher in high school to tell HIM what he was doing wrong with my own child….dipshit didn’t bother to really check my son’s work….no, he just marked it wrong when a very simple 10 second task analysis would have shown him exactly what my kid was doing wrong and another 10 sec comment from him to my kid would have corrected the issue.  Mind you, I did do this in a professional manner so that said teacher would not hold it against my kid that his mother had to come in and correct the teacher.  What is WRONG with that picture??

And No CHild Left Behind is without a doubt the BIGGEST FARCE ever to be forced upon the teachers (and parents) in this country…and I mean teachers from preschool through college.  This AWFUL law has done nothing but punish the schools that need the most support and help.  It has shoved us lock, stock and barrel back to the educational stone ages….mind you, there is not a teacher of any worth out there who does not want their students to succeed (those that don’t need to be REMOVED from their positions—and don’t let anyone tell you that it can’t be done…yes it can!)

Parents like April need to stand up and make themselves heard, loud and clear.  YOU ARE the EXPERTS when it comes to your children.  Demand that excessive and completely unnecessary homework be removed as a requirement. Demand that all children in all classrooms receive the respect from the teacher that the teacher expects from them and their parents!  You get respect when you give respect. Demand that ALL children have the opportunity to avail themselves of ALL educational options at the school and that there is a BROAD RANGE OF OPTIONS AVAILABLE. Don’t let the school board say it can’t be done, yes it can!

We are truly at a crossroads in this country regarding public education. It can soar and dramatically improve the lives of millions of children…or it can go right into the crapper with public funds syphoning off to Charter and other forms of nonpublic schools.  The choice really truly is yours…VOTE for the school board members who will make your schools what you want them to be…VOTE for the president who will make your schools what you want them to be…and get as invovled as your life allows.

I believe in the public school system in this country. I believe that every single child has the right to a QUALITY free education with choices. Do you?

3 Responses to “Blogblast for Education”


  1. June 21, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    Thank you, thank you, thank you! I’m so glad you joined in!!

  2. June 22, 2008 at 5:07 am

    Good post Mom, and I hope you linked it to April’s post so others can come and read your valuable opinions? I mean with her Mr. Linky over on her post, not linking it on here. Oh and I love the new look. Kinda dark, but you always did like going goth on Halloween.

  3. 3 edbooked
    June 23, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    I recommend for your conscientious consideration the novel, The Twilight’s Last Gleaming On Public Education, a portion of which may be viewed online by contacting the publisher at http://www.Xlibris.com, clicking on their Bookstore line, then Searching by title. This is appropriate reading for students enrolled in schools of education, as well as parents and grand-parents of school aged children. The author constructs an intriguing, socially relevant, and enlightening story, which possesses many of the elements commonly found in just about every school system throughout the United States. It notes, for example the potential, challenges, and obstacles currently littering the public education landscape. Navigating the plot to a well-conceived and logical conclusion, the author strives to leave the reader with a sense of time well invested in the reading of this book. Check it out for youself.


Leave a Reply

Today’s Special

June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Oldies but Goodies

Awards!


