18
Aug
08

You’ve entered…The twilight zone..duh,duh, DUH!!!!!

I just spent the last two hours on an incredibly cool online tool called Marratech. It is a synchronous online way to teach a class. My buddy Kate at University of New Orleans, who bought my soul hired me to teach a class for her students this semester, was giving me a tutorial on how to make this baby work.

YEEHAW!!

It was awesome! Here comes the geek in me…we had both our pictures up on the screen and were listening via headsets and talking via microphones. Then there was a whiteboard feature on the left side of the screen (Like a SMARTBoard for you other teachers out there)…and I could literally bring anything I wanted onto the whiteboard and then work with it….

So, my 4 year old nephew’s picture was the first thing to go up…when he was under one and it was the cutest little naked baby picture…oh, what we did to him his picture in the name of education! Poor baby had a tail, horns, arrows pointing to his various maleness features…thankfully, I also learned how to make it all disappear as well!

Then we did a number on my first Powerpoint session….oh.my.goodness. Kind of fun what you can do the anatomical features of the ear….*smirk*

Then we discovered the recording feature….can you say…STAND UP COMIC? We recorded and viewed and listened and rerecorded…and I basically had WAAAAAAY too much fun learning how to use this course tool.

It was very much like the Twilight Zone…going somewhere I had never gone before…OH, wait…that’s STAR TREK!

At any rate…it was a blast…I learned how I would be teaching my 11 students beginning next Thursday…and it seems my first day back this semester went glowingly well. WOOT!

93 days to Specs and Cabanaland

6 Responses to “You’ve entered…The twilight zone..duh,duh, DUH!!!!!”


  1. August 19, 2008 at 12:07 am

    Sounds awesome! What do you teach?

  2. August 19, 2008 at 7:26 am

    Glad you’ll have some fun things to look forward to this semster.

  3. August 19, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    Congrats on both! It all points to an awesome semester!

  4. 4 hotmamamia
    August 19, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    April–teacher preparation for Deaf Education

    Lilac and Jen—dank u!

  5. August 20, 2008 at 2:04 am

    Dank u is the formal way of saying thank you. U is formal, jij or je is friendly or informal. So for me and Jen you’d say Dank je

  6. August 20, 2008 at 6:38 am

    Ooooh sounds like fun! I have some pics I wanna do dirty things to… might have to hook me up 😉


Leave a Reply

Today’s Special

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Oldies but Goodies

Awards!


