12
Sep
08

I bear witness-Hurricane Ike

Have you heard about a little storm that is brewing in the southern US? Its name is Ike. He is a category 2 going on 3 level hurricane that is almost as large as the state of Texas itself! If you don’t know how big that is, go look at a map (500 miles for those not willing to look it up). Folks, that is a BIG Hurricane. So, I am here in New Orleans and I can honestly bear witness to the very beginning catastrophe that Ike is about to inflict on ALL of the southern states….from Pensacola, Florida to Galveston, Texas. The hurricane literally covers that much area..the ENTIRE Gulf Coast of the US.

My friend Kate and I took a quick ride to Lake Ponchatraine which was one of the areas that was totally devastated by Katrina and took a hit again last week with Gustav. Look at a couple pictures of what we saw and this was BEFORE the hurricane made landfall and really surged across all of the Gulf shores.


The first picture shows a home that is still being rebuilt with its FEMA trailer out front and both are on the way to being under water-AGAIN. The second shows a road in a beautiful neighborhood that was recently rebuilt that had water already up to the top of an automobile’s wheel wells…and I can tell you personally how terrifying it was to drive through that level of flood water, because I DID. I was terrified, my heart was pounding out of my chest, I wanted to vomit…and then a truck passed me in the other direction on the road and created a wave that was so high it washed over the entire car. Friends, I can tell you that driving through those flood waters was more terrifying than jumping out of an airplane. And to put it in perspective for you, this happened at 3pm today and the storm had only begun to send its surge.

I’m listening to the news now and the levees just south of New Orleans have breached and people are stuck. The water is too high for people to get out if they had not evacuated earlier. In one parish they are planning a search and rescue mission…knowing that people didn’t get out.

Galveston is gong to all but disappear. Ike is a monster. If you have any chance at all to help any of these folks, please do…

3 Responses to “I bear witness-Hurricane Ike”


  1. September 13, 2008 at 5:18 am

    I’m sorry but it still blows me away that people don’t evacuate. And also that people intentionally move back, rebuild and do this over and over again. I guess some people don’t have a choice, but some people do and I don’t get why they continue to tempt fate.

  2. September 13, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    I disagree w/ Lilacspecs. All areas are vulnerable to something. Home is home.

  3. September 13, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    I posted a link to a page that has a variety of relief agencies to help the victims of Ike and Gustav. I hope you and your friend are safe and dry.


Leave a Reply

Today’s Special

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Oldies but Goodies

Awards!


