22
Oct
08

Welcome to Lilacspecs’ Readers

Well, well, well. My darling daughter, Lilacspecs, is running a contest for her devoted readers…they need to come here and read my blog!

Now, the gauntlet has been thrown…I must attempt to measure up to my very gifted child’s writing talents…erm….I’ll try folks!

If you float through some of my 100+ entries (I started this blog in April), you will see that I am rather divergent in my topics. Sometimes I get rather passionate about things…other times I just kind of blather.

So, today I think I want to chat about working. I have loved my work for the 35 years I’ve done it…teaching. I never wanted to be a teacher. I wanted to be a nurse, but discovered that I could not stand the sight of blood gushing out of my brother’s chin when he fell off his bike. SCRATCH nursing.

Teaching has always been fun, but, I must say that it isn’t too much fun anymore. I’m starting to feel like my own mom…talking about how things used to be…it used to be that students were able to be energized when you, the teacher, were excited and energetic. It seems as though there is a collective depression in schools now. I’ve seen it in all levels of schooling too. I happen to teach at the university level, but supervise student teachers in preschools through high schools, and students just are not happy.

Why?

Is it that their teachers aren’t theatrical enough? (How sad that teachers today have to be card carrying members of Actor’s Equity)

Is it that their home situations are so intense that it carries over to school? (I’ve had college age students that are still significantly impacted by stuff at home)

Is it because life’s challenges are more than what they are prepared for? (Helicopter parents are KILLING their children’s ability to be active independent critical thinkers and problem solvers)

I don’t know. What I do know is that I used to love walking into my classroom every morning and having a blast teaching my students. Not anymore.

I always said that I have to have FUN when I work. If I’m not having FUN, it doesn’t matter how much you get paid, it’s not worth it. So, with 35 years ‘in the can’, I’ve told my program colleague and department chair that I plan to retire in May 2010.

Ya know…a weight was lifted and I think I may just find other neat ways to have my fun!

How about you? Have things changed a lot in the work that you do?? I’m all ears ๐Ÿ™‚

29, count em, 29 days to Belgium!

10 Responses to “Welcome to Lilacspecs’ Readers”


  1. October 22, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    OMG, I didn’t KNOW you were Lilacspecs mom. I’ve been over here before and enjoyed my visits. Too cool (since I can’t imagine my mom turning on the computer, nevermind blogging ๐Ÿ˜‰

    My oldest daughter has just started her 1st year of college in El Ed. Right now she’s full of joy at the prospect; I hope she keeps it. However, ennui is probably normal for every career, I’ve been a vet for (mumble, mumble) years and I’d like to change my career (to nursing or teaching–:) Who knows.

    Nice to ‘meet you’

  2. October 22, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    Um… I’m a teacher, so, um, yeah, they’ve changed. I think I’ve been teaching *almost* as long as you have.

  3. 3 thisblogisyourblog
    October 23, 2008 at 2:21 am

    Hi! I think I’m following Jen around in her blogland excursions. But, anyway, I felt compelled to come over and take a look not just because of the tantalizing Lilac Specs offer, but also because MY mom’s birthday is November 21, too! I feel like this makes us birthday soul mates, once removed. Or something.

    At any rate, I read some of your other posts, and hurray for Obama! Especially in Pittsburgh! I live in the Bay Area now, but when I lived in Cleveland, the political waters typically churned a very different way. I’m glad you write about, as you say, very divergent topics. It keeps the reading interesting ๐Ÿ˜€

    By the way, I’m not sure how my comment will post, because I’m logged into WordPress, so I guess I’d better introduce myself. I’m Cindy, and it’s very nice to meet you!

  4. October 23, 2008 at 9:26 am

    I worked as a teachers assistant till just after I had Miss M but I don’t think I’ll go back to it. I love the kids but it is the hardest job. My mum taught and ended up having a break down. She now volunteers in two school libraries and enjoys the contact without the responsibility. Here’s to your retirement and doing stuff you love.

  5. October 23, 2008 at 10:18 am

    Perhaps it’s also my way of seeing you blog a bit more :p
    And an excuse for us to go shopping! (like we need one, heh)

  6. October 23, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    Aloha! Love your blog’s name and enjoyed reading this post. I’m bookmarking you!
    The whole culture seems to be worn out and ready for something new; its as if we’ve outgrown somethings and are ready to move on……I’m gonna have my cousin who teaches in NYC read your post, and I hope she comments on it.
    Best Wishes from Waikiki!

  7. October 23, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    What I find with my girls is the teachers that they like the most are the ones that have a sense of humour and treat them like young adults.

    Back in my day, LOL, you just did what you were damn well told and it didn’t matter whether you liked the teacher or not.

    Things have changed a lot since I was a kid. But I think I prefer these days to then.

  8. October 23, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    OK, to preface this comment, I will introduce myself a little, just a little, I don’t want to lose you on your own blog’s comment section. That would be sad. I’m an ex-pat like your daughter. I left Scotland at the age of 25 for a change of scenery, just planning to come to California for 6 months. In the space of a month, I met my husband. A year later and exhaustive paperwork and exorbitant filing fees later, we were married. We live in Montana and have 2 boys. I’m also not 25 anymore, regrdless of what I might tell you.

    *******
    I think it’s sad that teachers aren’t appreciated as much as they should be, financially. They are the complete backbone of society. I applaud you for the time you’ve spent doing something you obviously love.

    My husband isn’t a huge fan of blood either. This is ironic. Why? He’s a mircobiologist and has smelled worse, like the Bubonic Plague, Listeria and most disgustingly, Clostridium. When my second boy was born almost two years ago he fainted. This Eagle Scout of a husband I have told me not to tell anyone. I’m not telling ANYONE, I’m telling you. I’ve kept that secret to myself all this time. The hard part was, he was meant to be MY support and he’s lying there like a beanbag and didn’t move.

    This is getting lengthy, so I’ll end with saying this: I am very impressed you keep a blog. My mother has no idea what a blog is. She confuses the words Internet and Email constantly. My four year old can navigate the Internet better than her. Wait, scratch that. My 4-year-old would have to show her how to power the thing on.

  9. October 27, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    It’s tough that what you love changes so much that you don’t so much love it anymore. I started out wanting to be a teacher, but at the time they were starting to bring guns and weapons into the schools and metal detectors etc, were going up as well. I’m glad I made the decision to not follow in that path as I see that it’s worse today in the schools and I would have been miserable.

    I’m in accouting and when i started doing this, we did things manually, with journals and pens and pencils and it was completely different then sitting her mindlessly in front of a computer punching in numbers and pressing calculate.

    Big difference.

  10. 10 Anon
    November 4, 2008 at 1:51 am

    As a student it really sucks to hear that you do not enjoy teaching anymore. I understand that times have changed, yet you being at the University level, you need to show future educators that it still is something to look forward to. How do your students feel about you not wanting to do this anymore?


Leave a Reply

Today’s Special

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Oldies but Goodies

Awards!


