24
Oct
08

Blog Blast for Education 2008- Epic of the Evil PE Teacher

Today April gave us the option to write about anything having to do with education. In the last Blog Blast I talked about how important education was for all of our citizens. THis time, I want to share my experience with my evil high school PE teacher.

Mrs. K (I’ll not name her to protect her identity even though she has already passed away) was one of those PE teachers that was always on your butt about something. Now, it depended on how athletic you were as to how far up your butt she went. Well, let me add right here that she was the faculty sponsor of the cheerleaders.

NUF SAID.

I was not a cheerleader. I was not in the least bit athletic. I could not play tennis, we did not have soccer when I was in school, but if we did, I would not have been able to play cause I can’t frickin run! So, you know I could not play basketball either. When we had stunts, I could not do them. Get up out of a ‘tailor seat sit’? Bwahahahahahahaha…I could not lift my butt off the ground, let alone stand up cross-legged! Run the 500? Can you say, puke??

Nope, I was not to be on her good side for my entire 5 years at school (grades 8-12). And to cap it off, I was a majorette (yes, I could twirl that baton like a champ); I was a first violin in orchestra (yes, I was damn good at playing the violin and was in several all-city-district orchestras); and I was a senior home ec girl ( I was even selected to design and create (sew) and then model a mother-daughter matching outfit at a local department store with a whole make-up make over by Bonne Bell cosmetics). In short, I was a nerd. An unathletic, couldn’t give a shit about gym, nerd.

Did I mention that Mrs. K went to high school with my mother and had been good friends with my mother?

Anyhow, we had this arcane system in school that we had 3 days of gym, one day of health and one day of gym study. If you wanted a hall pass to go do something else during gym study, you had to be in line the instant the bell rang because Mrs. K only gave out 5 passes. If you were #6 and had a really fantastic reason why you needed a pass, tough noogies.

My gym study was on the first floor main hall of my high school and it was 6th period which was right after lunch. I however, spent my 5th period on the 4th floor at the opposite end of the building and when the bell rang and the 4000 students in my high school changed classes, there was no way EVER that I could get downstairs in time to be one of the first 5 in line. NEVER. EVER. EVER.

So, I decided that it would be in my best interest to go to Senior Home Ec to work on my mother-daughter outfit on one of my gym study days. In other words, I cut the gym study class. Now, Senior Home Ec was on the 4th floor near orchestra where I spent 5th period. Never, in the history of time did Mrs. K come to the 4th floor of that building. EXCEPT THAT DAY. And not only did she venture to the 4th floor, she came to Senior Home Ec ( I do think somebody ratted me out and to this day I don’t know who)….

“Well, well, well,” she says as she is looking at me. “And what are you doing here? You didn’t get a pass from me to come here.” I just thought, screw this, I’m taking the offensive…”No, I didn’t get a pass becasue you never give me a pass. You KNOW I can’t get down in time to be one of the first five in line and I wanted to come up here and finish this project.” Mrs. K was NOT happy with that response but, OH, how I ADORED my senior home ec teacher, Mrs. Bush. Mrs. Bush jumped to my defense…”Now, now, Marilyn. What is the big deal. She is only missing a study hall and she isn’t out of the building, she is here working on a project!”

I never thought I would see those shades of red and green on a teacher’s face. Mrs. K was not to be denied. I was hauled out of senior home ec and hauled down to the office with the additional threat that she would be calling my mother to report what I had done.

The assistant principal talked to me and said that it would be in my best interest not to cut gym study again…no suspension (as had been requested by the evil PE teacher). And my mother? She damn near laughed in Mrs. K’s face when she called. When asked if she wanted to know what her daughter did, my wonderful mom basically said, “You’ve got to be kidding me. You are upset with her because she missed a study hall? Oh well.” My mother was my hero!

I twirled at the footbal games, at the assemblies, and in every local parade; I performed with the Pittsburgh symphony orchestra; I modeled my adorable mother-daughter outfit with a cute little girl (matching blouses, skirts and purses) and I never did cut gym study again. Mrs. K never talked to me or my mom again….SCORE!

7 Responses to “Blog Blast for Education 2008- Epic of the Evil PE Teacher”


  1. October 24, 2008 at 11:09 am

    OMG–that teacher would not be denied! That’s great you had so many others standing up for you. I hated PE, too.

  2. October 24, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    I hated PE, too. When I was in high school, for ONCE I was having a good time because I was on the “good” basketball team, and I was improving. Then she switched up the teams. It was so demoralizing.

  3. October 24, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    I forgot to add – THANK YOU for participating!!

  4. October 24, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    This post reminds me of the time my Mom went to bat for me in High School. She wasn’t the type to go against the teachers if it wasn’t warranted. But we were going round and round and over and over again trying to get me to pass this particular Math class in order to graduate. I had tutors and took the class three times! (I sound like an idiot I know but I was really struggling) My mom just said JUST GIVE HER A PASS ALREADY! This is getting ridiculous and so they did and I’m fine and I can even add and subtract (but I have to do it on my fingers…:) Sometimes, it’s not about the grade, it’s about recognizing who the child is and how to work with them.

  5. October 25, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    I have two words:
    Mrs. Beatty

  6. October 26, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    What is it about evil gym teachers? They’re kind of legion. OTOH, I guess you can find evil teachers in all subject areas, along with the great, non-evil ones. Athletics do seem to have more than their fair share, though.

  7. October 27, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    Evil PE! I was like you, non-atletic, could barely run, wasn’t into it. I spent my time in the “Guidance Center” helping the nuns in our Catholic School. I got out of so much PE for that! It was my saving grace.


Leave a Reply

Today’s Special

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Oldies but Goodies

Awards!


