10
Nov
08

Words of Encouragement

I’ve had some heavy conversations with a number of people lately. I’m not sure whether it is the weather (getting cold, days are shorter, skies are gray), or the time of year (multiple holidays, almost final exam time, end of 2008) or the condition of the country (banks and businesses failing, layoffs, fear) or just maybe a general malaise. People seem to be bummed (aside from the gloriousness of the Obama win which made many millions of people very, very happy).

This song has always carried a deep message for me…I kind of ignore some of the religious overtones and pay more attention to the meat of the lyrics…if you are feeling bummed, I hope it will do the same for you.

I Hope You Dance…Lee Ann Womack

I hope you never lose your sense of wonder
You get your fill to eat
But always keep that hunger
May you never take one single breath for granted
God forbid love ever leave you empty handed
I hope you still feel small
When you stand by the ocean
Whenever one door closes, I hope one more opens
Promise me you’ll give faith a fighting chance

And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance
I hope you dance
I hope you dance

I hope you never fear those mountains in the distance
Never settle for the path of least resistance
Living might mean taking chances
But they’re worth taking
Lovin’ might be a mistake
But it’s worth making
Don’t let some hell bent heart
Leave you bitter
When you come close to selling out
Reconsider
Give the heavens above
More than just a passing glance

And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance
I hope you dance
(Time is a real and constant motion always)
I hope you dance
(Rolling us along)
I hope you dance
(Tell me who)
I hope you dance
(Wants to look back on their youth and wonder)
(Where those years have gone)

I hope you still feel small
When you stand by the ocean
Whenever one door closes, I hope one more opens
Promise me you’ll give faith a fighting chance

And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance
Dance
I hope you dance
I hope you dance
(Time is a real and constant motion always)
I hope you dance
(Rolling us along)
I hope you dance
(Tell me who)
(Wants to look back on their youth and wonder)
I hope you dance
(Where those years have gone)

(Tell me who)
I hope you dance
(Wants to look back on their youth and wonder)
(Where those years have gone)

 

10 days, just 10 tiny days; can you tell I can’t wait til Specs and Cabanaland?

6 Responses to “Words of Encouragement”


  1. November 10, 2008 at 4:11 am

    well D., this is a song I needed today! Thanks…
    And… don’t stop counting 🙂 … soon will be the day to hold your doughter in your arms.
    Big hug

  2. November 10, 2008 at 10:33 am

    Oh good song pick mom. This is one that always picks me up when I feel at my worst.

  3. November 10, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    That is a gorgeous song. And the bummed feeling is around here too. I think it’s the weather.

  4. 4 judie
    November 10, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    I wish I could dance, in my heart I do! Great thought and encouragement 🙂

  5. November 11, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    That is an awesome song! I tapped my foot, at work you know, no dancing allowed! are you packed already? Which suitcase am I in?


Leave a Reply

Today’s Special

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Oldies but Goodies

Awards!


