13
Nov
08

What the ……?

Wondering what I’m doing? A COUNTDOWN for heaven’s sake!  Since I OBVIOUSLY could not embed a damn countdown counter into my WordPress (they didn’t allow it)…for those of you following me for almost 8 months now…I am 1 week away from visiting my daughter in Belgium. I have not seen or touched my daughter for 8 months…

Folks, that is a frickin long time to not see your child.

Funny….when she was looking to go to college, the first words out of her mouth were, “NOT in Pennsylvania”…okey dokey…we looked at colleges all over New York and Ohio….AND

She went to IUP which is a wonderful university 50 minutes from our house.

When she graduated, oh, no! We were NOT going to live in Pittsburgh if we could help it. Uh-huh.  She lived in a rathole (I still love you honey, even with this choice of living arrangement) across town for a year and then moved to a cure little apartment across the street from her grandpa (never vistied though…Jewish mom guilt trip there)….and then moved HOME (OMG!) when Cabanaboy seriously entered the picture.

Then, it happened. She moved. Across. the. world.

It’ll actually be a year that she moved to Belgium on December 25th…figured Christmas day was a great day to travel for a Jewish kid.

The happy couple did visit in March, but I haven’t had the all important TOUCHING THE CHILD thing since then.

I CANNOT WAIT to give my daughter a huge hug and a huge kiss and I hope she knows that I will likely cry while doing it!

So, folks, bear with me…huh!   I am counting down…like Bubblewench says..IT IS ALL ABOUT ME!

7 days to happy feet in Belgium with Specs and Cabanaboy.

5 Responses to “What the ……?”


  1. November 14, 2008 at 5:08 am

    Hey now! When I lived in the rathole I visited Grandpa every day while he was in the hospital! And I didn’t visit a ton when I was in the apartment cause of the whole working 2 jobs and going to grad school thing, but I definitely visited a few times and called every other week or so. Yeesh.

    And I think it’s fairly typical of me…when I do something I usually go to the farthest extreme possible. Granted it took me 8 years to get out of Pennsylvania, but when I did, I did it BIG.

  2. November 14, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    A little poem:

    A daughter brings much happiness
    She’s a joy from the start
    Watching as she grows
    Reaches deep within your heart

    She is caring and giving
    A real joy to behold
    Watching her as years pass
    As her talents unfold

    She leaves memories and contentment
    Throughout her years
    And these memories quite often
    Will bring happy tears

    (I found it here: http://www.things-to-say.com/family-greeting-cards/dgsc-daughter.htm)

    And…. I am counting with you 🙂 Big hug!!

  3. November 17, 2008 at 2:16 am

    My mom and I are very close. She lives with us! But, during my first marriage, I went for more than six months without seeing her, although we talked on the phone every day. It was hard for me, but I think even harder for her. Now that I’m a mom, I understand that a little better.

    I’m excited for you! I can’t wait to hear all about your trip!

  4. November 18, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    woo hoo! I’m sooooooooooo excited…. sorry I haven’t been by in a few days, been crazy at work!

  5. November 18, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    C was going to do an exchange year his junior year of high school. That would have been next year! Eleven months without seeing him.

    It seemed fine when he was in eighth grade – I knew I’d miss him, but I also wanted him to have this wonderful opportunity.

    He’s decided against it now and I’m so, totally, completely relieved.

    My guess is she’ll cry, too. 😉


Leave a Reply

Today’s Special

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Oldies but Goodies

Awards!


