15
Jan
09

Now THAT was a real slap upside the head!

You’ll have to wait to hear about the cruise. First you need to hear about my week so far. This was week 1 of the new semester. You can imagine how joyfully ecstatic I was to go back to school in snow and about 23 degrees after being in 85+ degrees and sunshine for a whole fantastic week….I digress….

If I was my peep, Kelley, the expletives would be flying already. But, I’ll leave that to my buddy down under.

So, Monday morning I was JAZZED to get back on my exercise routine…get my shitskis back together and get everything off to a great new year start. DD (the hubby) and I get up at 4:50 AM (yes, you read that right) to go together to LA Fitness and sweat off some fat. We had to go in separate cars though because I had to go to work afterwards. So, he gets in his car and backs up and waits for me…and I start my car….ummm. I START MY CAR……ermmmmm…I. TRY. To. Start. My. Car.

NADA….oh, it cranks, but no start…I FRICKIN can’t believe it! It’s too early to tow it to my dealer so we decide to go to the gym (aren’t we the good ones!) and return home and try again in an hour or so.

It does NOT turn over….damnit! So, I call my office to let them know I will be late and likely miss my first class of the new term. (GREAT way to make a first impression on a new group of students)…I call AAA and call the dealership to let them know it is being towed there.

AAA comes, it does not start. Dude gets ready to load the car and tries it one more time and the mother of all biatches…it STARTS!!!!! Being afraid to take a chance, I drive over to the dealership with DD following and ask them to look it over cause IT WOULDN’T START FOR ME!

OK then…I drive DD home and take his car up to school…no place to park…I mean NO PLACE TO PARK…nice being a faculty person for a university and there is NO PLACE TO PARK when you get there to teach. I drove around for a good 20 minutes until someone finally pulled out…OF A PAY SPOT…$3 later I have a spot and high tail it into my office to try to get ready for the rest of the day.

OK….getting everything together and a student comes in to ask if we are having class that afternoon (she was in the cancelled morning class too)…oh, yes, we are having class. I’ll be down I say as I look at my wall clock. It says around 12:20….I have an hour til class, so I start to do some extra little work running things on the copier, etc. and I casually look at my watch….it says 1:45…ONE FORTYFIVE?????????!!!!! (My office wall clock was one hour SLOW!!!)

My class was supposed to start at 1:25….aghhhhhhhhhh…..I was 25 minutes late but the 20 kids were sitting in the hall waiting for me cause I told the one I would be there….JESUS H. Christ….this was REALLY a fantastic way to make a first impression on these kids!

Then it was faculty meeting time. I had such a headache when I headed home I thought my face was going to disembow (sp??) itself from the rest of my head. Monday night ended with a hot cup of tea…….went to bed and COULDN’T BREATHE…

Sinuses were so swollen shut that I couldn’t get air…I must have squeezed half a bottle of OCEAN saline spray up my nose to get it open so I could breathe….

BLECH-TUesday morning…Hightailed it up to school for a one hour class (this is an 80 mile round trip mind you) and half the class was missing…..did what I could and headed home with it taking me almost 90 minutes because the temperature dropped and the snow started flying. Oh, yes, the car was ready because IT STARTED FOR THEM…no problem they say. If it happens again, just tow it to them and don’t let AAA start it. Riiiight.

Ah….slept well and got up rather refreshed today…YESSSSS, this would be a good one….got a nice hot shower, got dressed, had my cereal for breakfast, got in the car about 5:45 to head for school…get there early, get a parking spot and get some extra stuff done before my 8AM class. Driving, driving, driving…nice music, moving along and I HIT A DEER and wrecked my 1 year old car. The worst part was that I didn’t kill the deer…a state cop had to come and shoot it…called AAA to send a tow truck—REALLY needed it this time…called DD to please come get me and take me to school and to get a rental car….cried over the poor creature that decided to hari kari on my car…

Ummm, no cars were available to rent in Indiana, PA….I love my husband…he drove back to Pittsburgh and then back to Indiana at 3PM to pick me up and back to Pittsburgh to get a rental car…

Between Monday and today I was SLAPPED UPSIDE THE HEAD at least four times…ummm, I’m not STUPID …I GET IT..I REALLY GET IT….

I applied for the paperwork to start my retirement process….I heard the message, loud and clear…thank you very much!

Now, on to tomorrow….windchills of -16….I am STAYING HOME 🙂

4 Responses to “Now THAT was a real slap upside the head!”


  1. January 15, 2009 at 4:28 am

    Well damn….
    Want me to call you tonight after work?

  2. 2 judie
    January 16, 2009 at 12:49 am

    OH MY GOD!!!! could you have any suckier luck? I hope at least that you are tan. I will call you when I get up 🙂

  3. January 16, 2009 at 12:50 am

    Ugh, that’s AWFUL! I’m so sorry you’ve been going through all of this!

  4. January 18, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    That is horrible. I think your first day of the semester has shown up in my pre-school year anxiety dreams.

    I’m so sorry you had such a crappy return!

    At least January 20th will rock, right?


Leave a Reply

Today’s Special

January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Oldies but Goodies

Awards!


