04
Feb
09

Steeler Nation – sick of it yet? Nah…..

I must start this one off by saying that deep down in my heart, it is just a game folks…really, it is just a game.

But it is amazing how much good can be done and togetherness can be had when a sports team reaches the championship game.

Yes, I am a Steelers fan, but not in the fanatical sense. I did NOT go out and buy everything Steelers that is available. In fact, I still have my very first original terrible towel which was NOT gold with black writing but in fact black with gold writing!

I have one or two OLD t-shirts…I absolutely refuse to go out and spend $80 on a ‘team’ shirt. 

But there is something to the whole Steeler Nation thing and that something is the nature and character of all things Pittsburgh. You simply cannot beat the kindness and down-to-earth good nature of the people who live in this city…particularly the native homegrowns. 

They are tough and tender at the same time…like Troy Polamalu;  they are smart and quirky at the same time…like Brett Keisel; they are dramatic and devilish at the same time…like Ben Roethlisberger; they are fighters and heros at the same time…like Hines Ward.

They lift us up, and in many ways, make us all better in the way they behave on and off the field. (Our boys are generally ‘good’ boys! They would never want to disappoint papa Rooney.) 

It was just a game….and the right team won. Steeler Nation is proud!

pittsburghsteelers_electric

4 Responses to “Steeler Nation – sick of it yet? Nah…..”


  1. February 4, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    Congrats to you guys. I was thrilled that Pittsburgh beat Arizona. McCain losing again was not at all lost on me 🙂

  2. February 4, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    This was a good game. Well played by both sides. And the Cards should be proud that they did as well as they did.
    Now, ahem….
    GOOOO STEEEELERRRRRSSSS

  3. February 5, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    It was SUCH fun. I know it’s been a good game when D and C are shouting at me to calm down. 😉

  4. February 18, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    Being an Eagles fan.. well I won’t finish that. But I’m super happy the Steelers won.


Leave a Reply

Today’s Special

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Oldies but Goodies

Awards!


