05
Apr
09

Delta still sucks even though they did get my kids home

They FINALLY arrived on Saturday night after yet ANOTHER delay.  And we were standing in baggage claim waiting for the luggage and nothing, nothing and then Specs mentions how LAST TIME Delta delivered the bags on an earlier flight and didn’t tell us.

Bastards did it again….I walked over tot the Delta office and there were their bags just sitting there…ANYONE COULD TAKE THEM.

So, to top it off, a section of the road from the airport leading BACK INTO PITTSBURGH was closed for THE ENTIRE WEEKEND. This means MASSIVE MIGRAINE headache traffic jams.  Decision…do we sit in the jam for a couple hours OR do we travel 30 miles out of our way toward Ohio to get back onto the PA turnpike and head east again to get back to Pittsburgh (57 miles). I HATE sitting in traffic so we chose Door #2. THis of course meant that we didn’t get back to our neck of Pittsburgh until almost 3 hours after they landed and they were hungry.

Must feed the kids! So we went for a quick…HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA-NOT…dinner and then headed back to the house. Unload the luggage and GUESS WHAT?

DELTA SUCKS…I just can’t say this enough and I am too much of a lady to say in print what I really think of them.  The baggage was SO mishandled that not only was there a rip in it but several thing on the inside that were extremely well wrapped, BROKE….I mean glass folks…shattered glass in the luggage. And, it happens that one of the things was a bottle of Chimay which CB was going to use to make a fantastic stew….for those who don’t know, Chimay is a WONDERFUL Belgian beer.  Uh-ha….ALL of the clothes were soaking wet with beer.

 

So, the good mommy that I am, washed all of the clothes before anyone went to bed.

 

Is there a happy ending?  Yep…today we bought THE GOWN. But YOU and everyone else will have to wait until the wedding to see it…sorry!

 

Oh, and Delta will be hearing from us tomorrow….you can bet on it!

7 Responses to “Delta still sucks even though they did get my kids home”


  1. April 6, 2009 at 8:42 am

    Yeah, and now Delta has teamed with Northworst… scary.

    I’m so sorry about all of the mishaps. I hope that you can all settle in to a wonderful time together now.

  2. April 6, 2009 at 11:40 am

    Flying has become such a nightmare! But I’m glad you’re all together now – I’m sure you’re all having a wonderful time. Enjoy!

  3. April 6, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    ohohoh… Damn Delta…

  4. 4 Kelley Flynn
    April 6, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    Delta is a Cincinnati company…what do you expect? I’ve learned not to expect much from Cincinnati!

  5. April 7, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    Read all the posts but only commenting here..

    They broke the Chimay!!! NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That stuff is probably my fave beer ever. That’s alcohol abuse. Sue them.

    Delta sucks ass. I won’t fly them anymore specifically because of luggage issues over the years.

    Very happy they are there and safe. Gown!! OH LA LA!! c’mon.. sneak peek.. please?

    Holy hell, is it snowing there today? I heard it might… Welcome home LS!!

  6. April 11, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    Sorry to hear about all the troubles, but I’m glad they made it! I hope you’re all having a great time.

  7. 7 scott
    April 20, 2009 at 11:14 pm

    A letter sent to Glenn Beck, Orbitz, Delta, CNN, Fox, MSNBC, Consumer Affairs and many more!

    How could anyone treat our soldiers this way?

    04/20/09

    A Marine stranded and alone by Orbitz and Delta

    My son is in the Marines, stationed in Hawaii. He was in desert training in CA for six weeks and asked me to purchase flights home – as he was being deployed early upon his return on 04/18/09.

    He is being deployed early on 05/15/09 – to Afghanistan, they only gave him seven days leave, 04/20/09 to 04/27/09, instead of four weeks. This meant four days of flight time and three days to visit.

    On 04/04/09 I purchased his tickets and heard nothing more from Orbitz. On 04/14/09, I logged in and followed the internet instructions with regards to tickets. I left an online request for information, again on 04/17/09 – with no response. Finally I called them on 04/18/09 and was told all he needed was the confirmation e-mail I received and they would issue him tickets at the gate.

    My son called me on 04/18/09, the evening of his return to Hawaii, I gave him the information and contact numbers for both Orbitz and Delta. He called me back and said he called Delta and they said they would issue him tickets at the counter. Basically Oribtz and Delta re-assured us he would be ok.

    He showed up on the 04/09/09 at the Delta counter and they said there was NOTHING they could do but sell him new tickets at 1000.00+ dollars. He and I both called Orbitz and they said take the confirmation e-mail to Delta and they would resolve it. When he returned to the Delta counter, they refused to accept it. On a return call to Orbitz, a supervisor said there was nothing further they could do, except purchase new tickets, again at 1000.00+ dollars.

    He instructed me to cancel the tickets and several of his friends would try to gather up enough money for a flight home, but this would reduce his visit to one or two days.

    All the while worrying about getting home in a 12 hour period after returning from a six week field training period – nothing can be done.

    Needless to say, the panic and pure disappointment in his voice was something no father should hear or soldier should experience.

    I am working towards resolving this matter by any means possible, but since when do we treat our soldiers like common baggage.

    We may not get to see him before he leaves, if he is injured or worse – killed, what reason could warrant the actions of Orbitz or Delta.

    An excerpt from my last message to Orbitz.

    Shame on you folks – my son is supposed to be on a flight tomorrow a 7 day leave with 4 on flights and then off to Afghanistan. I purchased the tickets, emailed twice last week and called this evening trying to make sure he could be taken care of and you can do nothing for him. He was in training for the last 6 weeks with no contact to the outside world and this is his only chance to get home before being shipped off – again – shame on you folks. I will do my best to spread this story to anyone that will listen!

    I am uncertain what good this letter will do, but I must shout to the world somehow – how can you treat our soldiers this way.

    I have since found him a flight, he lost two days of precious hard earned leave, but he will be home for three days.

    He spent hours on hold, overseas call centers, dropped calls, one pointing the finger to the other. His voice choked with emotions wondering how he could be treated this way after pushing through the flu and injuries sustained in desert training, simple meds but no relief, never complaining. As he said, “Dad, don’t worry about me, I am fine, I am doing this for you, Jess, Scotty and the rest of America – I don’t want to be anything else but be a Marine.”. But in my mind, I could see my son, feeling as though a child being punished for something he didn’t do.

    I have heard NOTHING from Orbitz or Delta while I filled out every customer form available!


Leave a Reply

Today’s Special

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Oldies but Goodies

Awards!


