17
Jul
09

so, what do you do with a 3 and 5 year old for a week???

Play, a lot!

That was done quite intentionally. I now have a new found respect for my sister-in-law who is a major maven at playing with her 3 granddaughters (age 5 months, 19 months and 5 years).  I now marvel at her energy levels AND her ability to get her ass up off the floor, cause honey girl, this babe was stuck butt-first on the kitchen and living room floors for what seemed like hours.

Like, the legs were NUMB! Not to mention the butt cheeks.

But, YES, I did have fun with my two nephews. Danny (5 years old) and Jake (3 years old) had me running around and using muscle and brain cells that had been lying dormant.  I played Fish for hours, ran around the back yard playing soccer and tag until I couldn’t breathe, blew bubbles, played horseshoes and ringtoss, played I Spy (and nearly went blind doing so) and shopped til I dropped at Toys R Us.

This visit definitely confirmed that I REALLY NEED A GRANDKID!  My kitties are wonderful and they do play with me and give me their own form of hugs and kisses, but man alive…there is nothing better than a little kid jumping out of his skin with excitement to see you and want to be with you no matter what! Then you  have the pleasure to play your own heart out and give the child back…sugar high and all 😛

SPECS, I am giving you and CB a month of wedded bliss…that’s it kid….mummy needs a grandkid!

 

So, one of the neatest places we went to visit was called Animal Ark.  A wonderful place that cares for wild animals that would have otherwise been euthanized. I plan to build them into my Methods class this year and have my students build a unit around them as well as adopt an animal for a year.

 

And of course, there was the requisite visit to Chuck E Cheese. It was absolutely hysterical watching the 3 year old try to play whack-a-mole, but man alive, that child could shoot a gun in one of those hunting games….I mean dead-on shooting…3 years old!

 

All in all, I had a wonderful time and dad got a chance to spend some real quality time with his two little grandchildren. Here is some picture proof of our good times…of course I am in NONE of them since I was taking all of them…sheesh!

2 Responses to “so, what do you do with a 3 and 5 year old for a week???”


  1. July 18, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    I’m trying to convince your future son in law to let me go off the pill a month or two before the wedding…gotta take advantage of that socialized health care, right?

  2. July 23, 2009 at 7:43 am

    Looks like you had a great time. Sounds like it too! Good to hear… I’m thankful my brothers had kids, took the ‘mom’ pressure off me!


Leave a Reply

Today’s Special

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Oldies but Goodies

Awards!


