18
Aug
09

Mrs.4444 asked for a vacation recap

The day started out with beautiful weather, always a good thing when driving over 400 miles to a beach. We stopped for breakfast as usual in Breezewood and then headed toward the dreaded DC area. Well, we had no trouble getting around DC but about an hour down I95 we got stuck in a traffic jam like I had never seen in my life. We were able to get on the HOV lane but even that came to a standstill….for almost 50 miles…YES, FIFTY MILES, we sat on I 95 in bumper-to-bumper traffic. What should have taken us 7 hours took nearly 11 hours to get to Virginia Beach.

After that it really was a glorious vacation. I mean, everyone has their ideal vacation…their favorite things to do.

 

My hubby likes to sit on the beach for just a couple hours and then just relax in the apartment (timeshare)..he loves to watch TV and just snooze whenever the mood hits. 

 

My day…wake up and go outside on the balcony to watch the sun rise over the ocean…I LOVE that…the warmth of the sun-both heat and color- coming up over the ocean horizon—thinking about it makes me smile….sometimes I take a walk on the boardwalk for an hour…2-3 miles of walking in that sunrise. Then comes a nice light breakfast and down on the beach by 10:30-11; plant myself in my chair and READ, READ, READ. I’ll go jump in the water a few times (depending on how hot it gets), but I mainly love to pleasure read becasue I almost never have the time during the school year.    This year I read: Plum Lucky; Missing Ink; Eclipse , and Breaking Dawn,  and started Odd Thomas.

I literally COULD NOT put down the Twilight books. After I got home, I ran out and bought the Twilight movie (in Blu-Ray no less) and had to watch it again, now that I read all the books. (I saw the movie before I read any of the books)…It makes such a difference when you read a book and then see the movie…I have to say that the parts were perfectly cast…..if Kristen Stewart and Robert Pattinson had any more chemistry between them, they would have melted the screen…just as much as their two characters practically melted the pages of the book!

One of the things we did differently this year was that we only ate out three times. That’s of course because we are saving for Lilacspecs’ and CB’s wedding next May.  And, DD and I agreed that this was actually NICE!  I didn’t mind making dinners in, it was good food and wonderfully casual and comfortable…no hustle and bustle getting dressed and driving to a restaurant; waiting for a table; etc. We almost always took a walk after dinner window shopping or looking for something specific that we wnated to buy. One of the GREAT things that they have at Virginia Beach is called “Beach Street USA”. For about 16 blocks on Atlantic Avenue, they have FREE nightly entertainment. As long as the weather is good, there are all sorts of musicians, singers, comedians, magicians, jugglers, artists, bands, anything and everything you’d want to see in entertainment and it is ALL FREE! And, to top it all off, on Sunday and Wednesday nights (again, weather permitting) they have fireworks shot off from the ocean; a good 30 minutes show both nights and it is just fabulous to watch the shows…lots of ooooos and ahhhhhhs and of course, applause by the appreciative bystanders.

 

One other highlight this year…Wednesday night (weather was not permitting the VA BEACH fireworks) we had a huge case of NATURE’S fireworks. We sat and watched the most spectacular lightning storm come rolling in from the ocean. I mean, I sat on the balcony slack jawed with amazement…I have never, ever seen lightning bolts like I saw that night. Huge, brilliant bolts of light streaking across the sky…streaking from clouds down to the water….absolutelybreathtaking…and the most amazing thing was that you could hear no thunder because the lightning strikes were so far away in the ocean…but you COULD SEE THE LIGHT!  Like I said, Nature’s gift that night and then a HUMUNGOUS storm…which was pretty cool as well. (THursday was our ‘Mall Day’/rain day).

 

So, that pretty much sums it up….tons of reading, gobs of sunshine (I got me my vitamin D fix for a while), wonderful dinners in and out…marvelous entertainment, a surprise from nature and a very easy 7 hour drive home (we still saw the same backup in the opposite direction while driving home–we learned that it is like that almost every single Saturday because of the amount of traffic heading to the shore–so, as we have in the past, we will no longer head down on Saturday…we’ll go a few days earlier, catch a few more sunny days and avoid the huge traffic jams!

3 Responses to “Mrs.4444 asked for a vacation recap”


  1. August 18, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    This is so funny – your vacation days are to a “T” how I spent mine when we used to go to FL every spring. I’d get up early, watch the sunrise as I walked along the beach, and then get books and read, read, read and jump in the water periodically. Why does this not surprise me? It sounds idyllic. I’m doing a staycation next week but really looking forward to it – we have a lake near us and I haven’t been there ALL SUMMER. I want to sit by it and… read. And jump in the water. Ha, ha, ha!

  2. August 19, 2009 at 10:14 am

    I used to really like VA beach. Maybe one day we’ll take a vacation there with you. CB likes any place where stuff is free. And I like the beach.

  3. August 24, 2009 at 11:19 am

    Sounds absolutely perfect; my kind of vacation. I could easily picture it all. Thanks for the recap 🙂


Leave a Reply

Today’s Special

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Oldies but Goodies

Awards!


