05
Nov
09

Tick tock, tick tock

Sometimes I detest time; other times it can be sinfully wonderful.

 

Today, I hate it.  One week is simply not enough time to spend with a child who is across the world for most of the year.  Specs was here and gone in one very short week…I walked past the room this morning on the way to check the computer to make sure the flight arrived well and on time back in Belgium. And I had a very heavy heart. (yes, it did to both…arrived well and on time I think)

All of my students were happy to have me back after my week of H1N1/Specsitis, but, they also asked about the week and were anxious to hear all the little details…and I shared, but my heart was heavy at the end of it all.

More than once Specs mentioned that the next time she came back, the purpose was to get married. She won’t be my baby girl anymore…she will become someone else’s cherished soulmate; I can be pretty bad  at sharing sometimes…and that made me cry.

Damn, it is hard being a parent, and time doesn’t help one little bit. At least, not this time.

(please note, the generic version :P)

3 Responses to “Tick tock, tick tock”


  1. November 6, 2009 at 12:30 am

    Sorry for not e-mailing you. I suck at it apparently cause CB said I waited too long to email him too.
    Anyway, love ya, and see you in May.
    Thanks for a great week.

  2. November 6, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    I’m already freaking out at C leaving for college. And he’ll probably be only a few hours away. Sigh.

    Glad you had a lovely week together!

  3. November 6, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    Think of it this way: instead of losing a daughter, you’re gaining a son!


Leave a Reply

Today’s Special

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Oldies but Goodies

Awards!


